Inscription maintenant ouverte!

Série virtuelle Tous Ensemble 2020

(Veuillez noter que la conférence sera offerte en anglais seulement)

La série virtuelle Tous Ensemble 2020 (Coming Together 2020) est ouverte à tous. Nous encourageons les personnes de 14 ans et plus ayant des capacités différentes et leurs proches soignants à s’inscrire.

La conférence annuelle se concentre sur des sujets pertinents pour les personnes qui vivent des transitions dans leur vie. Notre 25e anniversaire sera aussi l’occasion de revoir les succès durement gagnés des personnes que nous soutenons.

Cette année, Tous Ensemble 2020 sera offerte dans un format virtuel plutôt qu’en personne. Nous avons créé une série d’activités virtuelles qui se dérouleront sur quatre samedis durant le mois de novembre. Ces activités interactives porteront sur la santé mentale, le logement, les relations avec les autres et l’emploi. Nous avons mené un sondage auprès des familles qui souhaitent participer à l’événement et avons convenu que ces sujets restent importants aujourd’hui.

Le programme avec les renseignements sur les activités peut être trouvé sous le formulaire d’inscription ci-dessous. Il vous suffit de remplir le formulaire une fois que vous avez trouvé les activités qui vous intéressent.

Formulaire d’inscription

L’inscription est maintenant fermée pour cet événement.

Programme de la conférence

Parcours virtuel pour les jeunes
Grâce à la plateforme virtuelle Zoom, les participants dans le parcours virtuel pour les jeunes seront invités à se joindre à des activités amusantes pour développer leurs compétences.

Les activités dans le parcours virtuel pour les jeunes sont créées et implémentées par Recreational Respite.

Activités de conférence virtuelle
Grâce à la plateforme virtuelle Zoom, les participants aux activités de conférence virtuelles pourront apprendre auprès d’experts en la matière, puis se joindre aux autres participants dans de petits groupes de travail pour approfondir le sujet et partager leurs expériences.
Jour 1: samedi le 7 novembre 2020
Soigner soi-même sa santé mentale (complet)
Parcours virtuel pour les jeunes de 10 à 11h30


Rencontrez de nouveaux amis, jouez à des jeux et apprenez à gérer le stress et à vous sentir bien dans votre peau. Vous apprendrez également des choses que vous pouvez faire pour prendre soin de vous et rester en bonne santé.

25e anniversaire de SCS et discours du Dr Lunsky
Activité de conférence virtuelle de 13 à 15h

(l’inscription à cette activité est maintenant fermée)

  • 25e anniversaire de SCS
    Au cours de cette célébration, notre directrice générale et le président de notre conseil d’administration parleront de l’engagement de SCS à soutenir les personnes au fil des ans. Nous partagerons également les succès durement gagnés par les personnes que nous soutenons. Enfin, des dirigeants politiques qui ont engagé leurs efforts pour soutenir les personnes ayant une déficience intellectuelle partageront leurs messages.

  • Déficience intellectuelle, santé mentale et COVID
    Orateur principal: Dr Yona Lunsky

    Au cours de cette session, je (Dr Yona Lunsky) parlerai des troubles du développement et de la santé mentale familiale lors de la COVID-19. Tout comme nous devons faire attention à notre sécurité pendant la pandémie, nous devons faire autant d’efforts pour nous maintenir en bonne santé. Et être en bonne santé n’est pas seulement une question de santé physique, mais aussi de santé émotionnelle. Passer au travers de la COVID-19, c’est comme courir un marathon auquel on ne s’est jamais inscrit, sans aucun entraînement. Que pouvons-nous faire maintenant pour continuer à passer l’hiver? Comment prendre soin de nous-mêmes et des autres?

    Yona Lunsky est la directrice du Centre Azrieli sur les troubles du développement du cerveau et les maladies mentales des adultes au Centre de toxicomanie et de santé mentale (CAMH), et professeure au Département de psychiatrie de l’Université de Toronto. Elle étudie la santé mentale et les troubles du développement depuis plus de vingt ans et a publié plus de 200 études sur le sujet. Psychologue clinicienne et sœur, elle met sa passion pour cette communauté au service de ses efforts de recherche et d’éducation, en travaillant en étroite collaboration avec les personnes ayant un handicap et leurs familles pour concevoir des approches innovantes en matière de soins de santé mentale et évaluer leur impact.

Jour 2: samedi le 14 novembre 2020
Prendre des décisions (complet)
Parcours virtuel pour les jeunes de 10 à 11h30


Rencontrez de nouveaux amis, jouez à des jeux et apprenez à prendre de bonnes décisions. Prendre de bonnes décisions est une chose importante si vous voulez être heureux. Il y a une façon de le faire et cette activité vous montrera comment.

Introduction à la boîte à outils sur le logement et à l’outil de gestion budgétaire de SOPDI
Activité de conférence virtuelle de 13 à 15h
Présentateurs : Martha Beach et Alexandra Shannan

(l’inscription à cette activité est maintenant fermée)

Les navigateurs en matière de logement de SOPDI présenteront aux participants la boîte à outils sur le logement de SOPDI. L’objectif de cette boîte à outils est d’aider les personnes, leurs soignants et leurs réseaux de soutien à s’informer sur les options de logement individualisées, quel que soit l’endroit où elles se trouvent dans le processus d’obtention de services pour les adultes ayant une déficience intellectuelle financés par le ministère. La boîte à outils, accompagnée des conseils des navigateurs et du personnel des services locaux pour le logement de SOPDI, constitue une ressource proactive pour aider toute personne à la recherche d’options de logement.

Jour 3: samedi le 21 novembre 2020
Médias sociaux et cyberintimidation (complet)
Parcours virtuel pour les jeunes de 10 à 11h30


Rencontrez de nouveaux amis, jouez à des jeux et parlez de différentes choses qui peuvent se produire lorsque vous êtes en ligne. Apprenez comment vous protéger, comment traiter les autres et quoi faire si vous ou quelqu’un que vous connaissez êtes victime d’intimidation en ligne.

Votre avenir social
Activité de conférence virtuelle de 13 à 15h
(l’inscription à cette activité est maintenant fermée)

Présentateur: John Anderson
Le directeur de Spectrum Insights et formateur local en matière de TSA, accompagné d’élèves du groupe social Moving Forward et des parents, présentera cette activité pratique et interactive, en discutant de la création de relations à travers le prisme des jeunes en transition ayant un TSA.

Cette session explorera:

  • Pourquoi l’amitié est importante;
  • Les défis quotidiens;
  • Comment commencer;
  • Après la fin du groupe; et
  • Des histoires qui donnent de l’espoir.

Jour 4: samedi le 28 novembre 2020
Développement des compétences en matière de leadership (complet)
Parcours virtuel pour les jeunes de 10 à 11h30


Rencontrez de nouveaux amis, jouez à des jeux et développez vos compétences pour devenir un meilleur leader dans votre vie et dans votre communauté. On se sent bien quand on peut faire plus de choses par soi-même, partager ses idées et aider les autres.


Panel sur l’emploi: EmployAbility
Activité de conférence virtuelle de 13 à 15h

Les participants seront invités à soumettre leurs questions dans le cadre de cette discussion interactive sur l’emploi inclusif. Découvrez les initiatives d’inclusion de notre communauté d’affaires locale. Découvrez les perspectives des programmes d’emploi, des employeurs, des employés et des entrepreneurs et inspirez-vous de leurs expériences.

Animé par: Shannon Bruce de l’initiative PAIRE de Centraide

En vedette:

  • Jen Soucy de LiveWorkPlay Employment Services
  • Ryan Nevitt, un employé de Purolator
  • Geoff McDiarmid président du Comité consultatif des personnes handicapées de l’Agence canadienne d’inspection des aliments (ACIA) et gestionnaire / Direction générale de l’innovation, des affaires et du développement des services
  • Emilie, entrepreneure et artiste photographe, et sa mère Jennifer Geigel

Exigences technologiques

Pour participer à la série virtuelle Tous Ensemble 2020, vous devez disposer d’un ordinateur avec une connexion Internet. Les participants pourront participer de trois manières:

  • en utilisant une caméra et un microphone pour une expérience totalement immersive;
  • en interagissant uniquement avec un microphone; ou
  • en regardant sans utiliser de microphone ou de caméra.

Registration Now Open!

Coming Together 2020 Virtual Series

Coming Together 2020 is open to everyone. We encourage individuals 14+ with differences of abilities and their caregivers or families to register.

The annual conference focuses on topics relevant to people who are experiencing life transitions. Our 25th anniversary will also be an opportunity to share the hard-earned successes of the people we support.

This year, Coming Together 2020 will be offered in a virtual format instead of in-person. We have created a series of virtual activities that will take place over four Saturdays in November. These interactive activities will cover Mental Health, Housing, Relationships and Employment. We have conducted a survey with families interested in attending the event and they agreed these topics remain important today.

The program with information about the activities can be found under the registration form below. Simply fill out the form once you have found the activities you are interested in.

Registration Form

Please complete one registration per attendee. For example, if you are a family and you want your young adult to register for the morning and you want to register for the afternoon we ask that you complete two separate registrations.

Your Contact Information

First Name*

Last Name*

Your Email*

Technical Support

Ottawa Foyer Partage (OFP) will offer technical support to participants through their Shared Connections program. You will need a computer with an Internet connection to participate in the virtual conference.

If you would like to request technical support for using the Zoom virtual platform to participate in the event, please check the option that describes your situation:

I would like to receive training from OFP on how to use Zoom ahead of the conference.I am an Ottawa resident and I don't have access to a computer or tablet but I do have access to the internet through Wi-Fi or a cell phone data plan. (We will contact you to discuss options.)

Note that a phone line will also be available during the Saturday events which you can call for OFP’s help connecting to the Coming Together 2020 virtual activities.

Select Virtual Activities

In the list here, check the boxes of the activities you wish to participate in. Further down, you can find the program with the schedule and information about the activities.

Virtual Youth Track:
Mental Health Self-care
Making Decisions
Social Media & Cyberbullying
Leadership Skill Development

Please enter your age:
(To help presenters adjust activities to group age)

Virtual Conference Activities:
SCS 25th Anniversary & Keynote from Dr Lunsky
DSO Housing Toolkit and Budget Tool
Your Social Future
Employment Panel: EmployAbility

Meal Options for Clients of SCS

Check this box if you want to receive a gift card to order a meal.

By checking this box, you confirm that you have received services from SCS and you would like a gift card to order a meal from a local restaurant of your choice. We will confirm your attendance on November 7th during the morning or afternoon activity before emailing your gift card to the email address you entered in your registration. We have 120 gift cards to be distributed in the amount of $50 each. Attendance to our previous conferences was about 120 participants. We will make a random draw if there are more than 120 eligible participants. We hope you will be able to participate in the 25th anniversary of SCS and conference activities without the worry of preparing a meal.

Please note that seats are limited.

Once you have completed your registration, you will receive a confirmation email. If you didn’t receive one, please email Nancy Bradshaw, Event Coordinator, at ncbradshaw61@gmail.com. You will also receive a second email closer to the event date with more details.

Conference Program

Virtual Youth Track
Using the Zoom virtual platform, youth and young adults in the Virtual Youth Track will be invited to participate in fun activities to develop their skills.

Programs in the Virtual Youth Track are created and implemented by Recreational Respite.

Virtual Conference Activities
Using the Zoom virtual platform, participants in the Virtual Conference Activities will learn from subject matter experts and then join fellow participants in small workgroups to further explore the topic and share experiences.
Day 1: November 7, 2020
Mental Health Self-Care
Virtual Youth Track from 10 to 11:30 AM


Meet new friends, play games and learn how to deal with stress and feel good about yourself. You’ll also learn things you can do to take care of yourself and stay healthy.

SCS 25th Anniversary & Keynote from Dr Lunsky
Virtual Conference Activity from 1 to 3 PM

  • SCS 25th Anniversary
    During this celebration, our Executive Director and the Chair of our Board of Directors will speak about the commitment of SCS in supporting people throughout the years. We will also share the hard-earned successes of the people we support. Finally, political leaders who have committed their efforts to support people with developmental disabilities will share their messages.
  • Developmental Disability, Mental Health, and COVID
    Keynote Presenter: Dr Yona Lunsky

    In this session, I (Dr Yona Lunsky) will speak about developmental disabilities and family mental health during COVID-19. The same as we have to pay attention to keeping ourselves safe during the pandemic, we have to put just as much effort into keeping ourselves well. And being well is not just about being well physically, but also emotionally. Getting through COVID-19 is like running in a marathon that we never signed up for, without any training. What can we do now to keep going through the winter? How do we take care of ourselves and each other?

    Dr Yona Lunsky is the Director of the Azrieli Adult Neurodevelopmental Centre at the Centre for Addiction and Mental Health, and Professor in the Department of Psychiatry at the University of Toronto. She has been studying mental health and developmental disabilities for over twenty years and has published over 200 studies on the topic. A clinical psychologist and a sibling, she brings her passion for this community into her research and education efforts, working closely with people with disabilities and families to design innovative approaches to mental health care and evaluate their impact.

Day 2: November 14, 2020
Making Decisions
Virtual Youth Track from 10 to 11:30 AM


Meet new friends, play games and learn how to make good decisions. Making good decisions is a big thing if you want to be happy. There is a way to do it and this activity will show you how.

Introduction to DSO Housing Toolkit and Budget Tool
Virtual Conference Activity from 1 to 3 PM
Presenters: Martha Beach and Tracy Love

DSO housing navigators will introduce participants to the DSO Housing Toolkit. The intent of the toolkit is to help people, their caregivers and support networks learn about individualized housing options, regardless of where they are in the process of obtaining ministry-funded adult developmental services. The toolkit, accompanied by guidance from local DSO housing navigators and staff, serves as a proactive resource to help anyone looking for housing options.
Day 3: November 21, 2020
Social Media Cyberbullying
Virtual Youth Track from 10 to 11:30 AM


Meet new friends, play games and talk about different things that can happen when being social online. Learn how to stay safe, how to treat other people, and what to do if you or someone you know are being bullied online.

Your Social Future
Virtual Conference Activity from 1 to 3 PM
Presenter: John Anderson

The Director of Spectrum Insights and local ASD coach, with students from the Moving Forward Social Group and parents, will present this practical interactive session discussing relationship building through the lens of transition aged youth with ASD.

This session will explore:

  • Why Friendship Matters;
  • Everyday Challenges;
  • How Do We Start;
  • After The Group is Over; and
  • Stories of Hope.

Day 4: November 28, 2020
Leadership Skill Development
Virtual Youth Track from 10 to 11:30 AM


Meet new friends, play games and build skills to be a better leader in your life and community. It feels good when you can do more things on your own, share your ideas, and help other people.


Employment Panel: EmployAbility
Virtual Conference Activity from 1 to 3 PM

Participants will be invited to submit their questions as part of this interactive discussion on inclusive employment. Learn about our local business community’s inclusion initiatives. Gain insights and inspiration from employment program, employer, employee, and entrepreneur perspectives.

Facilitated by: Shannon Bruce of United Way’s EARN Initiative

Featuring:

  • Jen Soucy of LiveWorkPlay Employment Services
  • Ryan Nevitt an employee of Purolator
  • Geoff McDiarmid Chair of Disability Advisory Committee for Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA) and Manager / Innovation, Business and Service Development Branch
  • Entrepreneur and photography artist Emilie and her mother Jennifer Geigel

Technology Requirements

In order to take part in Coming Together 2020 Virtual Series, you will need a computer with an Internet connection. Attendees will be able to participate in three ways:

  • by using a camera and microphone for a fully immersive experience;
  • by interacting with a microphone only; or
  • by watching without using a microphone or camera.